190 Saint Michael's student-athletes recognized on NE-10 Commissioner's Honor Roll

COLCHESTER, Vt. - Saint Michael's College had 190 student-athletes qualify for the Northeast-10 Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll for the spring semester, including 11 from the baseball team (class years from 2011-12 school year):

Seniors Bryan Geary (Milton, Vt./Milton/Skidmore), Chris Hoey (Huntington, N.Y./Saint Anthony's), Tim McDonnell (Durham, N.H./Oyster River), Michael Robinson (Fairfield, Conn./Fairfield Warde) and Jesse Sullivan (Saugus, Mass./Pingree School); sophomores Nick Barton (Colchester, Vt./Colchester) and Tyler Wild (Quaker Hill, Conn./Saint Bernard School); and freshmen Will Corkum (Ipswich, Mass./Ipswich), Nicky Elderton (Shelburne, Vt./Rice Memorial), Harry Klein (Rockville, Md./The Avalon School) and Don McGuirl (Warwick, R.I./Saint Sebastian's School).

Saint Michael's was fifth among the league's 16 institutions in total honorees, and tied for seventh by having 54 percent of its NE-10 student-athletes land on the Commissioner's Honor Roll. Student-athletes that earn a minimum 3.0 GPA during a given semester are eligible for the accolade. Eighteen of the Purple Knights' squads compete in the NE-10.

The women's cross country program topped Saint Michael's with 22 honorees, a figure good for second in the NE-10 among women's cross country teams. With eight qualifiers, women's tennis tied for the league high in its sport, while women's basketball had 11, just one short of the conference leader.