This Week In Saint Michael's College Athletics


Contact: Tony Bonvechio - Phone: 802.654.2929

COLCHESTER, Vt. – The Purple Knights put the finishing touches on another chapter of Saint Michael’s College athletics last week, as nationally-ranked men’s lacrosse was narrowly eliminated from the Northeast-10 Conference Tournament by Adelphi in the Semifinals.

The men’s lacrosse team fell to Adelphi University in a nail biting 8-7 decision on Friday after advancing to the NE-10 Semifinals for the first time since 2008. The Purple Knights tied the program record with 10 wins and reached the double digit win mark for the first time under head coach Paul Schimoler. After posting a 9-3 mark in their final 12 games, the Purple Knights had a chance to host the NE-10 Championship had they knocked off the Panthers, as lower-seeded Merrimack upset top-seeded Le Moyne and would have made Saint Michael’s the highest seed remaining. Junior Andrew Buccellato (Glen Rock, N.J./Don Bosco Prep) scored six goals in the postseason, sophomore Pete Donnally (Madison, N.J./Morristown-Beard) totaled five goals and an assist, freshman Marty Vanzo (Westford, Vt./Essex (Univ. of Vermont)) recorded two goals and four assists and freshman Max Zuccarini (Medfield, Mass./Medfield (Quinnipiac)) had three goals in the semifinals, including two game-tying goals to keep the Purple Knights in contention. First-year goalies Chris Demairo (Bethpage, N.Y./Bethpage) and Theo Ferguson (Delmar, N.Y./Bethlehem Central) split each game in the crease, and both made three saves while allowing four goals in each contest.

Baseball senior Pete Estes (Bennington, Vt./Mount Anthony Union) was named to the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Capital One Academic All-District Second Team, and is one of just two NCAA Division II student-athletes recognized in the District I College Division. Estes earned a 3.84 grade point average as a journalism and mass communication major, and posted a .286 batting average, scored 12 runs and stole seven bases as the team’s everyday second baseman.

Softball freshman Greer Lemnah (Lyndon Center, Vt./Lyndon Institute) received NE-10 All-Conference Third Team accolades as a utility-non-pitcher for her versatile play at six different positions this season. Lemnah started all 38 games for the Purple Knights between left field, center field, designated player, second base, third base and catcher. The first-year leadoff hitter led the team in at-bats, was second on the team in hits and walks, and strung together a team-best five-game hitting streak in mid April.

Women’s ice hockey placed nine players on the 2010-11 Eastern College Athletic Conference Women’s East All-Academic Team: seniors Meghan Colitti (Dover, N.H./Berwick Academy), Kaleigh Ferrari (Millbrook, N.Y./The Millbrook School) and Emily Ham (Sudbury, Mass./Lincoln-Sudbury Regional), juniors Emily Elliott (Casper, Wyo./Colorado Selects), Kiera Nelligan (Melrose, Mass./Arlington Catholic) and Casey Yelton (Arnold, Md./Washington Pride), and sophomores Melissa Coughlin (Franklin, Mass./Franklin)Melissa Hallisey (Dedham, Mass./Dedham) and Erin Stevens (Watertown, Conn./Connecticut Polar Bears). All-Academic honorees must have completed at least one academic year, have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 and played in at least half of the team’s games.

Men's ice hockey landed 10 players on the 2010-11 ECAC East All-Academic Team: seniors Fran Briand (South Burlington, Vt./Loomis Chaffee School), Alex Higgins (Phoenix, Ariz./Kent School), Tully LaBelle-Hamer (Fairbanks, Alaska/Alaska Avalanche (NAHL)), and Reave MacKinnon (Winnipeg, Manitoba/Winnipeg Saints (MJHL)); juniors Brady Earle (Columbia, Md./The Gunnery School), and sophomores Justin Castagna (Los Alamitos, Calif./Los Angeles Kings (AAA)), Mike Dizgun (Kirkland, Quebec/OCN Blizzard (NJHL)), Dan Evarts (Hinesburg, Vt./Green Mountain Glades (EJHL), Colby MacDonald (Byfield, Mass./The Gunnery School), and Rick Rodeschini (Hopewell Junction, N.Y./Canterbury School).

The Saint Michael’s College Athletic Department held the 64th annual Block ‘M’ Awards banquet on Thursday and handed out numerous awards to honor a handful of Purple Knights. Eleven major awards were given to student-athletes, and the Purple Knights Coach of the Year Award was presented to James Franklin of men’s soccer. The George “Doc” Jacobs Award was given to Estes and women’s lacrosse senior Meghan McLaughlin (Cape Elizabeth, Maine/Cape Elizabeth); the Diane C. Foster ’77 Award was handed to Joan Colloton (Albany, N.Y./Academy of the Holy Names) of women’s lacrosse, Alex Higgins (Pheonix, Ariz./Kent School) of men’s ice hockey and Sarah Regan (Norton, Mass./Norton) of women’s cross country; the Victor V. LeMieux ’35 Award was presented to Christine Amoresano (Hasbrouck Heights, N.J./Immaculate Heart) of women’s swimming, Nate Birr (Burnsville, Minn./Saint Thomas Academy) of men’s basketball and Kate Condon (Holliston, Mass./Holliston) of softball; and women’s tennis senior Deahna Giguere (Oakland, Maine/Messalonskee) was dubbed the 2011 NCAA Woman of the Year nominee for the College. For the complete recap of award winners and videos of the reception, click here