1951 Varsity Football Team
1951 Varsity Football Team
Enshrined: Inducted October 15, 1994

The 1951 Purple Knight Football Varsity will always be remembered as one of New England's greatest small college teams. The Knights were a perfect 6-0-0 in the Fall, defeating Vermont (41-7), Norwich (14-0), American International (20-13), Springfield (12-7), Kings Point (26-0) and Arnold (32-0). They were the only undefeated and untied team in New England, and were declared New England and State Champions. The Knights were truly dominant on both sides of the football. Offensively, they outscored their opponents 145-26, and their punishing ground attack produced three backs with more than 1,000 yards rushing. Defensively, the team allowed only 314 total yards passing, ranking the Knights first in New England and second in the nation against the pass. Drawing better than 4,000 fans per game, the 1951 team produced three Little All-America, three All-New England, and six All-State selections.

The 1951 Varsity Roster

Joe Antone John Donovan John Meisel
Paul Aumand Bill Driscoll Ted Morris 
Paul Balcom Dave Foley John O'Connor 
John Barbati Guido Forte Carmine Paratia
Justin Capodilupo Cary Hamrah Pete Plourde
John Cappuccio John Heggarty John Provenzano 
Mike Carr  John Houlihan Frank Simas 
Ed Carrier Bob Jarvis Dick Stokes 
Ken Casperson Bob Kateley John Sully
Art Coggio Don Labossiere Joe Tricario
Ray Cormier Paul Landry Ernie Woodworth 
Frank Cotter Bob Leahy John Yurasits
Paul Crotty George Maloney
Jack Diamond Jim McDonald
Bill Donohue Don McCaffigan

George 'Doc' Jacobs, Head Coach - Inducted October 15, 1994
Barry Branon, Assistant Coach - Inducted September 29, 1990
Bill Piscione, Assistant Coach
Bernard Couture, Manager
John Splaine, Manager
Jack Terenzini, Manager

Learn What Matters